A Little About Me.

September 22, 2006

Now that I’ve given you a brief history on tattoos and piercings, I will share with you my own experiences.

For my 16th birthday, I begged my mother to let me get a piercing. She decided the only one she would allow was the eyebrow, so that’s what I got. It didn’t hurt much. By that time I was used to needles, because in my younger years I had a lot of bloodwork done, and I already had 9 piercings in my ears, including the cartilage. So I was accustomed to that kind of pain and it didn’t bother me. I didn’t even flinch. Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of it because that was before I got a digital camera.

I loved it…for about 3 months. And then it started to reject. If you don’t know what that means, it’s when your skin “realized” that there’s a foreign object in there and it tries to push it out. It usually happens with surface piercings; piercings that basically sit on top of the skin as opposed to through it. I went to the parlor and the guy thought that if I got it done deeper, it would stay. After 2 weeks of healing, I went back and got it redone. That last for about a month and it started to reject again. I took it out and gave it up. Now I have a lovely scar on my eyebrow, but I can’t complain because it goes with the territory.

The next year, on my 17th birthday, my mom took me to get my first tattoo. On one condition: My dad couldn’t know. He’s vehemently against tattoos and any kind of body modification. That day, I experienced a new kind of pain. The feeling of a needle drilling into your skin for 30+ minutes isn’t exactly pleasant, but I feel that it’s worth it. I got my first tattoo done on my lower back and here it is.

Lower Back

Everyone should have seen the next year coming, because it was my 18th birthday, and I could legally get whatever kind of body art I wanted! This was a double-mod year for me.

I’d been contemplating a certain design for quite a while. It was more painful than the first, but it’s my favorite. I got it done on my right shoulder blade. A tip to anyone interested in getting a tattoo: Red ink is the most expensive! This is a bit smaller than the palm of my hand and it cost me $100. My mother hates it, but I think it fits my personality and so does everyone else I know. A little bit girly, a little bit morbid.

Shoulder Blade

Ever since I gave up my eyebrow piercing, I’d been wanting a new one. The one I had my eye on for a long time was the septum. Yes, this is what you often see cartoons of bulls wearing. That part right between your nostrils. Sounds painful? You’d be correct. But that’s part of what attracted me to it, because it wasn’t something you saw every day. I only knew one person at the time who had it done, and that was my boyfriend. He went to a professional to get his done, and it seemed the man had no clue what he was doing. He had to run the needle through 3 times because he couldn’t get it right, and by the end, my poor Andy was vomiting blood because it ran down his throat.

Frankly, it scared me to death. I didn’t want to go through that, so I decided not to get it. But then Andy started learning how to pierce from someone who’d been trained by a professional. He wanted to do my septum, but I wouldn’t let him since he’d never done it before. And then I watched him do his friend’s septum, and it turned out perfectly. It didn’t bleed, and it grew in straight.

So I let him do mine. A lot of people will say that letting an amateur pierce you is a stupid thing to do, and this is true most of the time. However, I had more confidence in my “amateur” boyfriend than I did in the “professional” who pierced him. I waited until I observed him doing it properly, and only then did I allow him to do it. There was no bleeding. Of course it hurt, but could you imagine a needle going through that part of your nose? It’s said to be the most painful of any facial piercing.

I’m extremely happy with the results. When I got pierced, it was a 16 gauge (relatively small). I have since stretched it to a 14 gauge and I’m considering stretching it again to a 12.

Septum

The septum is a great piercing for anybody who is not allowed to have them at work. Whenever I’m headed to work (and usually to class also), I flip it up inside my nose and you would never know it’s there.

I would love to get a new piercing, but my job won’t allow it, and I’m too chicken (and too germophobic) to get anything done below my face. I’ve also been thinking about getting a new tattoo, but I have yet to decide on a design. I’ve been drawing tattoo designs for a while now, and I would love to get my own work done. I’m sure you’ll all find out when it does happen!

6 Responses to “A Little About Me.”

  1. I have always heard that once you get a tattoo you always get more. That holds true to almost everyone I know. Once you get one it’s like your addicted. Do you feel that it’s become an addition? I don’t mind tattoo’s I just have always felt that they can easily become addicting thats why am I scared to get one.

  2. *nods*
    That’s true! For most people. And it holds true for me. I only have two, but after I got my second one done, I wanted another the next day. But I’ve managed to restrain myself until I find a design I really love and want on my body the rest of my life.

  3. Last year, my girlfriend and her husband had a matching tattoo placed on their bodies in honor of their son. Their story is sad, but it sparked an interest in tattooing for myself. I’m entering my middle age years, and feel a strong desire to celebrate me. Last year I wanted to jump right in, but I had not found a design that “spoke” to me. Your blog has rekindled my interest and I want to start looking again.

  4. I’m glad your interest is back! I think any body modification, if chosen wisely, is an awesome thing to do. This is kind of getting me back to thinking of more too!

  5. love2fish said

    My daughter got a gang tatoo when she was rebelling at 14. She’s wanted to cover it ever since. She is mother earth now, and as far from the gang persona as you can be. How much is it to tatoo a design that you make up yourself? She has one in mind and I would like to give her that “gift.”

  6. Wow, a gang tattoo is something I would never suggest.

    Usually when you design a tattoo yourself, you’ll take in the design to the parlor and the artist will charge you the regular amount he/she would for a design that was already in the shop. Some will even pay you for the rights to your design, so they can put it on other people as well.

Leave a Reply

