Scarification

October 13, 2006

Scarification is relatively unfamiliar to me and it’s not something I’d ever want to do. However, the subject is still extremely interesting.

National Geographic has a good web page that explains what scarification is, where it came from, and how it’s done, right here.

I think this would be so much more painful than getting a tattoo! I’d rather have a needle stuck into my skin than be branded like a cow. Nevertheless, it is unique and I respect that.

6 Responses to “Scarification”

  1. This looks painful to me. I would never do such a thing myself but can understand why some people would. If you believe in this then you should have every right to do it.

  2. Hey, I’m all for individuality as well. I just don’t find that particular kind very attractive.

  3. Gads!! I don’t know if I could deal with the pain associated with tattooing. The photo made me cringe. I understand the tribal connection but I’m having a hard time wrapping my mind around an individual doing it. For our culture, wouldn’t it be considered along the lines of mutilation?

  4. love2fish said

    This article makes me wonder about the nature of humans and why appearance is so important. Why do we go to such brutal lengths in search of culturally defined beauty and sexuality? It is the soul of a person where true beauty resides. Seeking beauty in the flesh is a poor substitute.

  5. It’s hard to explain really.
    It’s not necessarily about looking beautiful or sexy, some people just love the feeling.
    Personally, I love the feeling of getting at tattoo or piercing. But this is one thing I don’t think I would love.

  6. kjamrozy said

    This is one of the most extreme portrayals of personal expression I have seen. Painful I would not think would even begin to explain what this practice must feel like. I know that is is considered an art form by some, but it seems a little over the top to me.

Leave a Reply

